Skateboarders announced for National Championships 2023

Skateboard GB can today announce the full list of skateboarders who will compete at the National Championships 2023, which will take place over two separate weekends this month.

British skateboarders were invited to enter the open event last month by sharing a video that showcased their abilities. The final list of skaters to be invited to the National Championships was then decided by a team of 3 judges, based on the same criteria that will then be used to score competitors during the National Championships.

The confirmed names include members of the current Skateboard GB National Team; Jesse Thomas, Lilly Strachan, George O’Neill, Alex Decunha and Joe Hinson. They will be joined by professional skateboarders Ben Nordberg and Jedd McKenzie, who are flying in from USA and Australia respectively.

Last year’s National Championships in the Park competition was an exciting event with a high caliber of riders. Jesse Thomas will once again compete in this discipline, after his podium place last year and having just taken gold at the world-renowned Vert Attack competition in Sweden. He will be joined by Lilly Strachan, who also placed on the podium at Vert Attack, as well as achieving a strong result at the World Championships earlier this year.

In the Street discipline, the 2023 National Championships will feature last year’s champion Joe Hinson. Joe will be joined by his Skateboard GB teammate Alex Decunha, who narrowly missed out on a place at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. The qualifying heats will also include a further 50 skateboarders, which will undoubtedly lead to an amazing event.

The National Championships for the Skateboard Park event will take place at The XC, in Hemel Hempstead on the 15th and 16th April.  The Street discipline with take place BaySixty6 skatepark in London on the 29th and 30th April. The finals of both events will be broadcast on BBC iPlayer, Red Button and the BBC Sport Website.

There will be a combined prize fund of £16,000 across the two events this year.

The National Championships would not be possible without the amazing support of our sponsors: Tech Deck, Triple Eight, Reyt and Aquapax.

A full competitor list is outlined below.

Park Discipline

George O’Neill

Jedd McKenzie

Jesse Thomas

Sam Beckett

Lilly Strachan

Lee Blackwell

Daisy da Gama Howells

Jack Wallbridge

Stefani Nurding

Miriam Nelson

Greg Nowik

Alex Griffiths

Kayo Martin

Tay Cunningham

Molly Seed

Lorenzo Ferrari

Jasmine Gordon

Olive Newman

Izzi Wilkinson Campbell

Isla Baker

LJ Pheonix

Nathan Hines

Grace Bennett

Kelly Turner

Alana Berry

Carys Connolly

Rio Obyrne

Caitlin Cox

Frankie Minton-Lee

Seth Wilson

Thomas Erents

Rory Buckley

Louis Newman

Alex Driver

Ruby Dolan

Samual Bamber

Gideon Parry-Laidler

Cassius Woudberg

Harry Reilly

Arthur Salkeld

Akin Hendrickse

Huck Booth

Beth Mooring

Katie Pike

Sol Dhariwal-Bisset

Ross Patrick

Ryan Hurt

Street Discipline

Alex Decunha

Diggs English

James White

Ben Nordberg

Luke Aucott

Adam Kay

Joe Hough

Joe Hinson

Ilka Rogers

Josh Mayson

Gabriel Martins Mendes

Miriam Nelson

Etienne Turnbull

Karim Keita

Harry While

Josh Briggs

Keiran Menzies

Tommy Corbridge

Elise Smart

Lona Gordon

Joss Bellamy

Lewis Blower

Marieme Corlett

Charlie Bach

Daisy Buchanan

Gabriel Gorman

Ayva-mae Whittenbury

Carys Connolly

Matilda Thomas

Megan Stokes

Ollie Parker

Conrad Rowe

Tao Middleton

Dottie Morgan-Kleinberg

Max Guirey

Vincent Sadowski

Jamie Manning

Ruwan Joyce-Richards

Jules Dunlop

Johnny Hill

Chazz Merryweather

Endez Chavez

Mark Harfield

George Glover-birks

Luke Jones

Lachlan Shaw

Shaun Wilkinson

Joseph Ward

Steve Robinson

Next Article

Building a Coach Development Program